JOE 5

JOE 5 

Duets about humanity, and its absence

To celebrate their 15th anniversary, Duda Paiva Company has created a 5th solo performance: JOE 5.

At times raw and riotous, at other times poetic, Duda Paiva’s choreographic encounters between man and being, between performer and object, will enquire whether it is reasonable to assert that an inherent part of humanity is to both create and destroy beauty.

In JOE 5, Duda Paiva Company envisions a futuristic world in which the protagonist encounters new forms of life in a simulated galactic setting. Taking tentative steps into this new world, Joe enters an ambivalent domain with systems and codes he does not seem to comprehend. Is Joe a clumsy tourist, incompatible with these new semantics? Or is he an agent of change with an ulterior motive, corrupting these systems as if he were a virus? What was once considered science-fiction is now reality, and what is here today may be gone tomorrow…

JOE 5 is Duda Paiva Company’s new solo performance for adults. A cross-over of dance, visual theatre and technological aesthetics, instilled into Duda Paiva’s signature foam world. A world that STMSND is elevating to a new level, bringing the space that Duda Paiva’s creatures inhabit to life with their own audio-visual style and language.

Propagating his signature and movement technique the ‘Object Score’ and by training and developing a new pool of performers, JOE 5 will be performed by Duda Paiva, Ilija Surla and Josse Vessies.

Credits
Concept and choreography: Duda Paiva
Dramaturgy: Kim Kooiman
Performance: Duda Paiva, Ilija Surla or Josse Vessies
Puppets: Duda Paiva and Andre Mello
Scenography: STMSND (Daniel Patijn, Mark Verhoef and Wilco Alkema)
Costume: Aziz Bekkaoui

More photos

Tour

Date Country City Production Venue Ticket
Sat 07/09/19 NL Den Haag JOE 5 UIT Festival Den Haag Buy tickets
Sat 14/09/19 NL Apeldoorn JOE 5 Schouwburg Orpheus Buy tickets
Sun 15/09/19 NL Apeldoorn JOE 5 Schouwburg Orpheus Buy tickets
Thu 26/09/19 FR Charleville-Mézières JOE 5 Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes Buy tickets
Fri 27/09/19 FR Charleville-Mézières JOE 5 Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes Buy tickets
Sat 05/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Buy tickets
Sun 06/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Buy tickets
Sat 12/10/19 NO Berger JOE 5
Wed 23/10/19 NL Tilburg JOE 5 Theater de Nieuwe Vorst Buy tickets
Thu 24/10/19 NL Haarlem JOE 5 Toneelschuur Buy tickets
Fri 01/11/19 NL Nijmegen JOE 5 LUX Buy tickets
Sat 02/11/19 NL Den Haag JOE 5 Korzo Theater Buy tickets
Wed 06/11/19 NL Amsterdam JOE 5 Theater Bellevue Buy tickets
Thu 07/11/19 NL Amsterdam JOE 5 Theater Bellevue Buy tickets
Mon 02/12/19 NL Enschede JOE 5 Concordia Buy tickets
Wed 04/12/19 NL Leiden JOE 5 Ins Blau Buy tickets
Tue 10/12/19 NL Amstelveen JOE 5 Schouwburg Amstelveen Buy tickets
Fri 13/12/19 NL Heerlen/Kerkrade JOE 5 Parkstad Limburg Theaters Buy tickets