JOE 5

JOE 5
Duets about humanity, and its absence

To celebrate Duda Paiva Company’s 15th anniversary we dive into the future!

Welcome to JOE 5, where the uncanny liveliness of Duda Paiva Company’s foam puppets meets finest dance talents to create visual poetry at its best.

In this new solo, the setting of a post-apocalyptic world is explored and humanity is put to question. Instead of being born, man is designed by extraterrestrial system which creates a perfect neo-human: eternally young, infinitely modified. But are perfection and immortality worthwile, knowing we have to give up on everything that makes us human, over and over again?

The dystopian world of JOE 5 is built in creative dialogue with STMSND Theatre Collective, by flirting with ideas of cyberpunk and futuristic visions of Michel Houellebecq’s ‘The Possibility of an Island’.

Credits
Concept and choreography: Duda Paiva
Dramaturgy: Kim Kooiman
Performance: Duda Paiva or Ilija Surla or Josse Vessies
Puppets: Duda Paiva and Andre Mello
Scenography: STMSND
Sound: Wilco Alkema
Light: Mark Verhoef
Decor: Daniel Patijn
Costume: Aziz Bekkaoui
Decor and costume studio: Atty Kingma
Outside eye: Preben Faye-Schjøll

JOE 5 is a coproduction with Nordland Visual Theatre (NO) and has been made possible by the Dutch Performing Arts Fund and by the Municipality of Amersfoort (NL).

 

More photos

Tour

Date Country City Production Venue Ticket
Sat 07/09/19 NL Den Haag JOE 5 UIT Festival Den Haag Buy tickets
Sat 14/09/19 NL Apeldoorn JOE 5 Schouwburg Orpheus Buy tickets
Sun 15/09/19 NL Apeldoorn JOE 5 Schouwburg Orpheus Buy tickets
Thu 26/09/19 FR Charleville-Mézières JOE 5 Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes Buy tickets
Fri 27/09/19 FR Charleville-Mézières JOE 5 Festival Mondial des Théâtres de Marionnettes Buy tickets
Sat 05/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Buy tickets
Sun 06/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Buy tickets
Sat 12/10/19 NO Berger JOE 5 Fossekleiva Kultursenter Buy tickets
Mon 14/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Buy tickets
Tue 15/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Buy tickets
Wed 16/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Sold Out
Thu 17/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Sold Out
Fri 18/10/19 NL Amersfoort JOE 5 Theater De Lieve Vrouw Sold Out
Thu 24/10/19 NL Haarlem JOE 5 Toneelschuur Buy tickets
Thu 31/10/19 NL Tilburg JOE 5 Theater de Nieuwe Vorst Buy tickets
Fri 01/11/19 NL Nijmegen JOE 5 LUX Buy tickets
Sat 02/11/19 NL Den Haag JOE 5 Korzo Theater Buy tickets
Wed 06/11/19 NL Amsterdam JOE 5 Theater Bellevue Buy tickets
Thu 07/11/19 NL Amsterdam JOE 5 Theater Bellevue Buy tickets
Fri 22/11/19 IT Milan JOE 5 Teatro del Buratto Buy tickets
Sat 23/11/19 IT Milan JOE 5 Teatro del Buratto Buy tickets
Mon 02/12/19 NL Enschede JOE 5 Concordia Buy tickets
Wed 04/12/19 NL Leiden JOE 5 Ins Blau Buy tickets
Tue 10/12/19 NL Amstelveen JOE 5 Schouwburg Amstelveen Buy tickets